Regions in Botswana

Botswana is made up of 16 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Botswana. Information on all primary administrative regions in Botswana.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Botswana alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Botswana

There are 16 regions in Botswana in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Botswana
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
North-East North East District1.89,979--
Lobatse Lobatse2.30,000--
Selibe Phikwe Selibe Phikwe3.49,724--
Sowa Town Sowa Town4.2,879--
City of Francistown City of Francistown5.150,800Francistown Francistown89,979
Gaborone Gaborone6.231,626Gaborone Gaborone208,411
Ghanzi Ghanzi District7.36,675Ghanzi Ghanzi9,934
Jwaneng Jwaneng8.18,063Jwaneng Jwaneng-
Ngwaketsi Southern District9.179,888Kanye Kanye44,716
Chobe Chobe District10.19,908Kasane Kasane9,250
North-West North West District11.81,978Maun Maun49,945
Kgatleng Kgatleng District12.79,665Mochudi Mochudi36,962
Kweneng Kweneng District13.230,335Molepolole Molepolole63,248
South-East South East District14.276,319Ramotswa Ramotswa21,450
Central Central District15.188,174Serowe Serowe47,419
Kgalagadi Kgalagadi District16.42,049Tshabong Tshabong6,591