Regions in Botswana

Botswana is made up of 16 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Botswana. Information on all primary administrative regions in Botswana.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Botswana alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Botswana

There are 16 regions in Botswana in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Botswana
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
South-East South East District1.276,319Ramotswa Ramotswa21,450
Gaborone Gaborone2.231,626Gaborone Gaborone208,411
Kweneng Kweneng District3.230,335Molepolole Molepolole63,248
Central Central District4.188,174Serowe Serowe47,419
Ngwaketsi Southern District5.179,888Kanye Kanye44,716
City of Francistown City of Francistown6.150,800Francistown Francistown89,979
North-East North East District7.89,979--
North-West North West District8.81,978Maun Maun49,945
Kgatleng Kgatleng District9.79,665Mochudi Mochudi36,962
Selibe Phikwe Selibe Phikwe10.49,724--
Kgalagadi Kgalagadi District11.42,049Tshabong Tshabong6,591
Ghanzi Ghanzi District12.36,675Ghanzi Ghanzi9,934
Lobatse Lobatse13.30,000--
Chobe Chobe District14.19,908Kasane Kasane9,250
Jwaneng Jwaneng15.18,063Jwaneng Jwaneng-
Sowa Town Sowa Town16.2,879--