Regions in Botswana

Botswana is made up of 16 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Botswana. Information on all primary administrative regions in Botswana.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Botswana alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Botswana

There are 16 regions in Botswana in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Botswana
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Gaborone Gaborone1.231,626Gaborone Gaborone208,411
City of Francistown City of Francistown2.150,800Francistown Francistown89,979
Kweneng Kweneng District3.230,335Molepolole Molepolole63,248
North-West North West District4.81,978Maun Maun49,945
Central Central District5.188,174Serowe Serowe47,419
Ngwaketsi Southern District6.179,888Kanye Kanye44,716
Kgatleng Kgatleng District7.79,665Mochudi Mochudi36,962
South-East South East District8.276,319Ramotswa Ramotswa21,450
Ghanzi Ghanzi District9.36,675Ghanzi Ghanzi9,934
Chobe Chobe District10.19,908Kasane Kasane9,250
Kgalagadi Kgalagadi District11.42,049Tshabong Tshabong6,591
Jwaneng Jwaneng12.18,063Jwaneng Jwaneng-
North-East North East District13.89,979--
Lobatse Lobatse14.30,000--
Selibe Phikwe Selibe Phikwe15.49,724--
Sowa Town Sowa Town16.2,879--